Tested and reviewed by Jonathan West · Updated Sep 29, 2026

Jabra Speak2 55 vs Poly Sync 20 Plus: Speakerphone Comparison

A side-by-side breakdown of microphone hardware, speaker size, battery limits, wireless adapters, and actual retail pricing.

Tested and reviewed by Jonathan West · Updated Sep 29, 2026

Choosing between the Jabra Speak2 55 and the Poly Sync 20+ comes down to your daily power and audio priorities. The Poly Sync 20+ costs less, runs up to 20 hours on battery, and includes a dedicated wireless Universal Serial Bus (USB) adapter. The Jabra Speak2 55 provides four beamforming microphones, a larger 50mm speaker, an Ingress Protection (IP) 64 rating, and an integrated cable carrying both USB-A and USB-C connectors.

At Layer3Labs, we build and run Artificial Intelligence (AI) workflows inside client operations, and reliable conference audio remains fundamental for voice transcription and daily communication.

Retail prices fluctuate between distributors. This comparison evaluates hardware specifications published by Jabra alongside pricing benchmarks reported by Headset Advisor.

Jabra Speak2 55 vs. Poly Sync 20+: Side-by-Side

DimensionJabra Speak2 55Poly Sync 20+
Microphone array4 beamforming noise-canceling MEMS microphones3-microphone array
Speaker diameter50mm full-range speaker40mm speaker
Battery lifeUp to 12 hours talk timeUp to 20 hours run time
Recharge timeUp to 2.5 hoursUnder 4 hours
Wireless USB adapterNo wireless USB dongle optionIncluded with Poly Sync 20+ variant
Integrated cableDual USB-A and USB-C connector cable (about 3 feet)Integrated USB-A cable on base unit
Bluetooth version and rangeBluetooth 5.1 (up to 30m range)Bluetooth 5.1 (range not stated in our sources)
Weight280 g360 g
Room size limitUp to 4.5m x 4.5mNot stated in our sources
Ingress protection ratingIP64 dust and water ratingNot stated in our sources
Software certificationsMicrosoft Teams (variant dependent), Google Meet, Amazon ChimeNot stated in our sources; check HP's page
Pricing$284 on Jabra site; roughly $140 to $180 online per Headset Advisor$140 on HP site with adapter; $120 to $150 online per Headset Advisor

Are you one of these vendors? Update your listing


Which Speakerphone Fits Which Desk

The Poly Sync 20+ fits mobile professionals who need extended battery life and a wireless USB adapter for their computer, while the Jabra Speak2 55 fits users who prioritize four microphones, a larger speaker, and dual wired USB connectivity. The Poly Sync 20+ runs for up to 20 hours, whereas the Jabra Speak2 55 tops out at 12 hours of talk time.

Retail prices vary across merchants. According to Headset Advisor, the Poly Sync 20 costs about $120 without an adapter and $140 with the adapter on HP's official store, while general online stores sell the Sync 20+ for $120 to $150. The Jabra Speak2 55 lists at $284 on Jabra's website, but online retailers sell it between $140 and $180.

  • Poly Sync 20+ provides a dedicated wireless USB adapter and a 20-hour battery reserve.
  • Jabra Speak2 55 provides a 50mm speaker and an integrated cable with both USB-A and USB-C heads.
  • Headset Advisor classified both models as professional grade in their roundup, while ranking the Yealink SP92 as overall winner.
Choose the Poly Sync 20+ for cord-free computer pairing and long battery life. Choose the Jabra Speak2 55 for larger speaker output and dual-head USB cable convenience.

Microphone Arrays and Speaker Hardware

The Jabra Speak2 55 includes four beamforming noise-canceling Micro-Electro-Mechanical Systems (MEMS) microphones, compared to the 3-microphone array inside the Poly Sync 20+. Jabra rates these four microphones for meeting rooms measuring up to 4.5m x 4.5m. Poly does not publish room dimensions or square footage ratings in our reference sources.

Speaker dimensions also separate the two units on the desk. Jabra builds the Speak2 55 with a 50mm full-range speaker cone, whereas Poly uses a 40mm speaker inside the Sync 20+. The larger 50mm driver provides a broader physical surface for audio reproduction across a workstation.

Both units support Bluetooth 5.1 for mobile connections. Jabra publishes an operating range of up to 30m for its Bluetooth radio, while the maximum Bluetooth range for the Poly Sync 20+ is not stated in our sources.

  • Jabra Speak2 55 uses 4 beamforming noise-canceling MEMS microphones.
  • Poly Sync 20+ uses a 3-microphone array.
  • Jabra equips a 50mm full-range speaker; Poly equips a 40mm speaker.
  • Jabra covers rooms up to 4.5m x 4.5m; Poly room coverage remains unpublished in our sources.
The Jabra Speak2 55 holds the physical advantage in acoustic hardware with four MEMS microphones, room coverage metrics, and a larger 50mm speaker.

Wireless USB Adapters and Cable Design

The Poly Sync 20+ includes a wireless USB adapter in the box, giving users dedicated wireless pairing to a computer without relying on standard onboard Bluetooth. The Jabra Speak2 55 does not include a wireless USB adapter and provides no wireless USB dongle option. Users who want a wireless USB dongle must pick the Poly Sync 20+ bundle rather than the Jabra Speak2 55.

Jabra handles physical connectivity through an integrated cable that combines USB-A and USB-C connectors on one cord. According to a product review, this integrated cable measures about 3 feet in length and is not replaceable if damaged.

The base Poly Sync 20 uses an integrated USB-A cable without an attached USB-C adapter. Jabra users can plug directly into modern USB-C ports or legacy USB-A ports without carrying separate conversion accessories.

  • Poly Sync 20+ ships with a wireless USB adapter for computer pairing.
  • Jabra Speak2 55 offers no wireless USB dongle option.
  • Jabra includes an integrated 3-foot cable with both USB-A and USB-C heads.
  • Base Poly Sync 20 includes an integrated USB-A cable without a dual connector.
If your workstation requires a dedicated wireless USB adapter for computer calls, buy the Poly Sync 20+. The Jabra Speak2 55 requires a direct cable or native Bluetooth.

Battery Run Time and Recharge Speeds

The Poly Sync 20+ delivers up to 20 hours of battery life on a complete charge, giving it an 8-hour endurance margin over the Jabra Speak2 55. Jabra rates the Speak2 55 for up to 12 hours of talk time. Professionals who travel across multiple workdays without a power source gain substantial run time from the Poly unit.

Jabra balances this shorter run time by offering faster recharge cycles. The Jabra Speak2 55 recharges fully in up to 2.5 hours through its integrated cable.

The Poly Sync 20+ recharges in under 4 hours. The operational tradeoff pairs 20 hours of run time against a faster 2.5-hour recovery window on the Jabra unit.

  • Poly Sync 20+ provides up to 20 hours of battery run time.
  • Jabra Speak2 55 provides up to 12 hours of talk time.
  • Jabra recharges in up to 2.5 hours; Poly recharges in under 4 hours.
The Poly Sync 20+ wins on total battery endurance, making it the preferred portable choice for multi-day trips away from charging ports.

Durability, Weight, and Software Certifications

The Jabra Speak2 55 holds an official IP64 rating for dust and water resistance, providing verified protection against dust ingress and liquid splashes. The IP rating for the Poly Sync 20+ is not stated in our sources.

In transit weight, the Jabra Speak2 55 weighs 280 g, while the Poly Sync 20+ weighs 360 g. The 80 g difference makes the Jabra unit lighter to carry in a laptop bag.

Software compatibility differs in verified specifications. Jabra officially certifies the Speak2 55 for Microsoft Teams (variant dependent), Google Meet, and Amazon Chime. Software certifications for the Poly Sync 20+ are not stated in our sources; check HP's page for verified support.

  • Jabra Speak2 55 features an official IP64 dust and water resistance rating.
  • Poly Sync 20+ IP rating is not stated in our sources.
  • Weight: Jabra Speak2 55 weighs 280 g; Poly Sync 20+ weighs 360 g.
  • Certifications: Jabra lists Google Meet, Amazon Chime, and Microsoft Teams; Poly certifications are not stated in our sources.
For certified collaboration platforms and confirmed dust and water sealing, the Jabra Speak2 55 provides published specifications where Poly data is not stated in our sources.

Pricing and Retail Value

The Poly Sync 20+ enters the market at a lower overall price point. Retail data from Headset Advisor shows the Poly Sync 20 priced around $120 without an adapter and $140 with the wireless USB adapter on HP's official site, with online retailers charging between $120 and $150.

The Jabra Speak2 55 carries a higher list price of $284 on Jabra's official web store. However, actual street pricing at online merchants ranges from $140 to $180 according to Headset Advisor.

Prices vary by retailer across both product lines, so buyers should review live listings before completing an order. In Headset Advisor's value review, the Yealink SP92 took the top overall recommendation, while Poly and Jabra were recognized as professional-grade equipment.

  • Poly Sync 20 costs $140 with adapter on HP's site and $120 to $150 at online merchants.
  • Jabra Speak2 55 lists at $284 on Jabra's site and sells between $140 and $180 online.
  • Both devices are designated professional grade by Headset Advisor.
  • Retail prices vary by retailer, making verification on merchant pages necessary.
The Poly Sync 20+ delivers a lower retail barrier, especially when bundling a wireless USB adapter.

The Verdict

The Poly Sync 20+ is the better purchase for users who want 20 hours of battery life, lower retail pricing, and an included wireless USB adapter for their computer.

The Jabra Speak2 55 is the stronger speakerphone for users who want four beamforming MEMS microphones, a larger 50mm speaker, confirmed IP64 dust and water protection, and an integrated dual USB-A and USB-C cable.

Who this is not for: buyers requiring confirmed Microsoft Teams certification should avoid assuming the Poly Sync 20+ is certified, as certifications are not stated in our sources; check HP's page. What would change our answer: a future Jabra hardware bundle that includes a wireless USB adapter, or a price reduction that places Jabra below Poly. Check current retailer listings and order the unit that matches your primary desk connection.

Sources & Disclaimer

Researched from primary vendor documentation and public regulator sources. Pricing and availability are accurate as of Sep 29, 2026 and can change — confirm current terms with each vendor before you buy.

Frequently Asked Questions

  • The Poly Sync 20+ is the base Poly Sync 20 bundled with a wireless USB adapter. The core speakerphone hardware remains identical, including the 3-microphone array, 40mm speaker, integrated USB-A cable, and 20-hour battery life. The plus label designates that the wireless adapter comes packaged in the box.
  • No, the Jabra Speak2 55 does not include or offer a wireless USB dongle option. To connect the Jabra Speak2 55 to a computer, you must use its integrated 3-foot cable with USB-A or USB-C connectors, or pair directly through standard Bluetooth 5.1.
  • The Poly Sync 20+ has longer battery life, offering up to 20 hours on a single charge compared to up to 12 hours of talk time on the Jabra Speak2 55. However, the Jabra Speak2 55 recharges faster, reaching full capacity in up to 2.5 hours compared to under 4 hours for the Poly Sync 20+.
  • Jabra rates the Speak2 55 for room sizes up to 4.5m x 4.5m with its four beamforming microphones. Poly does not publish participant counts or room dimensions for the Sync 20+ in our reference sources. Neither vendor publishes an exact participant headcount in our source documentation.
  • The Jabra Speak2 55 holds official certifications for Microsoft Teams (variant dependent), Google Meet, and Amazon Chime. Software certifications for the Poly Sync 20+ are not stated in our sources; check HP's page to confirm compatibility before purchasing.

Reviewing Hardware and Automation for Remote Teams?

Layer3Labs helps businesses configure hardware integrations and automate communication workflows. We ensure team tools connect smoothly with transcription services and operational databases.

Book a Free AI Workflow Audit