Claude Duet Pricing
Plan prices and usage limits for Claude Duet, compared with ChatGPT dots and Meta Muse.
Claude Duet has no separate price tag. Anthropic includes Claude Duet at no extra cost for US subscribers on Claude Pro and Claude Max plans. Its background tasks draw on the same usage limits as your regular chats.
Anthropic opened a waitlisted research preview on October 21, 2026, for individual accounts located in the United States. Workspaces on Team or Enterprise tiers cannot access the preview today, and Anthropic excludes the Free plan entirely.
Because Claude Duet checks your accounts at set intervals and runs tasks in the background, you may reach your five-hour session and weekly limits sooner than with chat alone.
What Claude Duet Costs
Claude Duet has no standalone fee and is included in Claude Pro at $20 monthly, or $17 per month billed annually, and Claude Max starting at $100 monthly for US users.
Anthropic launched Duet as an included research preview on October 21, 2026, as outlined in its introductory announcement and the official Claude Duet product page. Free accounts cannot access Claude Duet, and the Claude Duet getting-started guide confirms that Duet is not available on Team or Enterprise tiers today.
Plan prices below are from the Claude pricing page.
| Plan | Monthly Price | Includes Duet? | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | No | Duet is not available on the Free tier |
| Pro | $20 monthly ($17 billed annually) | Yes (waitlist, US only) | Includes Duet research preview at no added charge |
| Max | From $100 monthly | Yes (waitlist, US only) | Includes Duet research preview; no Duet-specific allowance published |
| Team Standard | $25 per seat ($20 billed annually) | No | Not available on Team plans yet |
| Team Premium | $125 per seat ($100 billed annually) | No | Excludes Duet preview; Team seats do not unlock Duet |
| Enterprise | $20 per seat plus API usage | No | Anthropic plans to support organizational tiers later |
How Usage Limits Work with Duet
Claude Duet shares your plan's standard session and weekly usage limits at the exact same rate as interactive chats in Claude.
Claude Duet's background checks count toward your five-hour session and weekly limits even when you are not typing. Each morning, Duet scans connected services like Gmail, Google Calendar, and Slack to build a brief of what needs attention. Throughout the day, Claude Duet checks your accounts at set intervals. The announcement says every few hours, and the exact interval is not stated. Claude Duet follows up on threads that have gone quiet and messages you only when something needs attention.
Anthropic explicitly notes that checking accounts nonstop would exhaust a user's plan limits much faster. Larger tasks such as a financial model, a dashboard or a slide deck take more Claude Opus 5.5 model turns, so they use more of your limits.
Anthropic provides one full limit reset covering both session and weekly limits when you are admitted. The reset is available until November 30, 2026.
- Shared pool: background actions and manual chats draw from the same five-hour and weekly caps
- Morning briefs: the daily email and calendar brief counts toward your session and weekly limits
- Scheduled check-ins: background checks run at set intervals (every few hours, per the announcement) because checking nonstop would use up limits much faster
- Opus 5.5 execution: larger tasks like a financial model or a deck take more model turns
- Onboarding reset: users receive one full limit reset upon admission, valid through November 30, 2026
Evaluating Pro or Max for Duet Workloads
Claude Pro is enough to get Claude Duet, and Max is not required.
Claude Pro costs $20 per month on monthly billing, or $17 per month billed annually, while Claude Max plans start at $100 per month. Anthropic has not published a dedicated, separate usage quota for Claude Duet on either subscription. Both tiers run the identical Claude Opus 5.5 model, as Duet automatically determines the effort each assignment requires without letting users switch underlying engines. On either plan, heavier background use means you may reach your limits sooner.
Team Workspace Costs and Workarounds
Organizations on Claude Team or Enterprise plans cannot deploy Claude Duet to employees today.
A company paying for Team Standard seats at $25 per user monthly, or Team Premium seats at $125 per user monthly, cannot access the Duet waitlist through those institutional workspaces. Anthropic's Duet support documentation says it plans to bring Duet to Team and Enterprise later, with no timeline.
Teams that want agent work today can use Claude with Cowork, which Anthropic merged into Claude on September 16, 2026, as documented in the Cowork transition announcement. You assign a project, and Claude keeps working across files and tools, with scheduling, after you close the app. Claude for Small Business is included with Claude Team at no extra cost and adds 15 agentic workflows and 15 skills for finance, operations, sales and marketing.
Business operators who want to test Duet specifically must register on the waitlist with an individual US Claude Pro or Max account.
- Workspace restriction: Team Standard and Team Premium subscriptions cannot access Duet
- Enterprise: Duet is not available yet, and Anthropic has not published admin controls for it
- Alternative execution: standard Claude subscriptions support persistent tasks across files and tools
- Claude for Small Business: Team plans include 15 agentic workflows and 15 skills at no added charge
Cost Comparison with Rival Agents
Claude Duet comes with Claude Pro at $20 a month, or $17 a month billed annually. Meta Muse has a free tier, and ChatGPT dots start at $100 a month through ChatGPT Pro 100.
Press coverage from MacRumors and 9to5Mac highlights Duet as Anthropic's direct rival to OpenAI's ChatGPT dots and Meta's Muse, though Anthropic publishes no competitive claims itself.
OpenAI announced ChatGPT dots on September 29, 2026. A dot runs on its own virtual computer using GPT-6 Astra. Access requires a ChatGPT Pro plan starting at $100 monthly, or a ChatGPT Business Premium seat costing $125 per user per month billed monthly ($100 annually) with a two-seat minimum. Standard Business seats at $25 monthly exclude dots. Chatting with a dot does not draw against standard usage caps, though tasks it delegates to Codex or ChatGPT Work consume standard limits.
Meta launched Meta Muse on September 8, 2026, as a personal agent powered by Muse Spark. Muse offers a free tier with unpublished caps, a Power tier at $20 monthly, and a Maximum tier at $100 monthly. It runs on personal mobile devices and web browsers, but lacks multi-user business workspace plans entirely.
Manus has a free tier with 300 daily refresh credits and paid plans from $20 a month. OpenClaw is free and open source, so you pay only for model tokens and hosting.
| Tool | Base Price | Team / Business Access | Usage Accounting |
|---|---|---|---|
| Claude Duet | $20/mo or $17/mo annual (Pro), or from $100/mo (Max) | No (Pro and Max only) | Shares standard session and weekly limits |
| ChatGPT Dots | $100/mo (Pro 100) | Yes ($125/user/mo Business Premium) | Chatting with a dot is exempt. Tasks it starts in Codex or ChatGPT Work count toward plan limits |
| Meta Muse | Free, $20/mo (Power), $100/mo (Maximum) | No (individual accounts only) | Free tier usage limit unpublished; purchases need approval and go through Stripe Link |
| Manus 2.0 | Free (300 daily credits), $20/mo (Pro) | Yes (from $20/seat/month) | Not published |
Unpublished Terms and Post-Preview Pricing
Anthropic has not stated whether Claude Duet will remain included in Pro and Max subscriptions or become a paid add-on once the research preview concludes.
Anthropic has not published what Claude Duet will cost, or what usage it will get, on Team and Enterprise plans.
Anthropic has not stated whether Duet data is used for model training or how long Duet data, cloud-computer data and memory are kept. It has also not published admin controls or audit logs for Duet.
Subscribers should verify current plan terms and rate structures directly on the Claude pricing page before upgrading accounts solely to join the waitlist.
Frequently Asked Questions
- No, Claude Duet is not free. Access requires an active Claude Pro subscription at $20 monthly ($17 billed annually) or a Claude Max subscription starting at $100 monthly. Anthropic excludes Free plan accounts from the preview waitlist.
- No, you do not need Claude Max to access Claude Duet. US subscribers on Claude Pro ($20 a month, or $17 billed annually) can join the waitlist. Max starts at $100 a month, and Anthropic publishes no Duet-specific allowance for it.
- Yes, Claude Duet shares your plan's standard five-hour session and weekly usage limits at the same rate as standard chats. Background check-ins, morning briefs, and multi-step tasks all draw against your total plan allocation.
- No, Claude Duet is not available on Team or Enterprise tiers today. Anthropic plans to support organizational plans later, but has not shared an availability timeline. Team users can assign projects to Claude with Cowork merged in instead.
- Anthropic has not stated whether Claude Duet will carry an added cost after the research preview. During the initial preview, Claude Duet is included at no extra charge on Pro and Max plans for admitted US users.
Evaluate Agent Costs Across Your Stack
Talk to Layer3Labs about what Claude Duet would cost you in usage and which workflows are worth handing to it.
Book a Consultation