Reviewed by Jonathan West · Updated Oct 15, 2026

What Is Utopai PAI and How Much Does It Cost?

What PAI 2.0 does and how many seconds of video each paid plan buys, as of October 2026.

Reviewed by Jonathan West · Updated Oct 15, 2026

Utopai PAI is an agent-driven artificial intelligence (AI) storytelling platform priced from $15 to $379 per month across four published subscription tiers, with no free tier listed. As of October 2026, Utopai offers PAI 2.0 with workflow tools spanning script breakdown, storyboard generation, a visual Canvas workspace, and direct exports to professional video editing suites.

PAI stands for Production Assistive Intelligence. It launched in spring 2026 and runs in a web browser at pai.utopaistudios.com. PAI pairs image and video generation models with a creative agent, and supports multi-shot sequencing. PAI assembles narrative projects from text scripts into structured timelines.

Credit cost depends on the model: Standard video costs 9 to 50 credits per second (480p to 1080p) and Utopai X costs 93 credits per second at 1080p.


What Utopai PAI Does

Utopai PAI operates as an agent-driven storytelling production engine designed to manage narrative media projects from initial text scripts to finished video timelines. Created by Utopai Studios, the software runs through a web portal at pai.utopaistudios.com. PAI organizes video creation around full narrative contexts across the whole production.

Production teams begin in PAI with script breakdown tools that analyze text to identify characters, scenes, locations, and required props. PAI then helps build a shot list from that breakdown.

PAI supports full 4K video exports. Users can export completed sequences directly to professional editing suites, including Adobe Premiere Pro and DaVinci Resolve. PAI also maintains an internal prompt ledger that logs every generation.

  • Script breakdown: parses narrative scripts to catalog characters, scenes, locations, and props
  • Shot list generation: organizes parsed scenes into structured shot sequences
  • Dual workspace modes: provides Easy Mode for guided storyboard steps and Pro Mode for freeform Canvas creation
  • Variant generation: rapid variants and 2x2 keyframe grids for each 15-second segment
  • Utopai X integration: coordinates generation from scripts, reference assets, project status, and feedback
  • Industry exports: exports 4K sequences directly to Adobe Premiere Pro and DaVinci Resolve
  • Prompt ledger: records every generation across the project

Utopai PAI Pricing and Whether It Is Free

Utopai PAI does not offer a free tier or recurring free credits on its public pricing page, requiring creators to purchase a paid subscription starting at $15 per month. Published pricing was checked on 2026-10-14, and buyers should check current rates on the official Utopai PAI pricing page. While the interface displays 'Try' buttons for individual tiers, Utopai does not state whether those buttons activate a free trial period or provide test credits.

Credit consumption depends on the selected video model and output resolution. Standard video generation burns between 9 and 50 credits per second across resolutions from 480p to 1080p. The Utopai X model consumes 93 credits per second for 1080p video generation.

Arithmetic from published rates reveals how quickly credit balances deplete during active rendering. At 50 credits per second for 1080p Standard video, the Basic plan's 1,000 credits yield 20 seconds of video (1,000 divided by 50). Rendering a single 10-second clip on Utopai X at 1080p burns 930 credits (10 seconds multiplied by 93 credits), consuming 93 percent of the Basic allotment.

Higher-volume plans provide more rendering capacity but still require careful budgeting. The Plus plan provides 3,500 credits for roughly 37 seconds of Utopai X 1080p footage, while the Pro plan yields about 107 seconds from 10,000 credits. The Ultra plan supplies 35,000 credits, delivering approximately 376 seconds (roughly 6.2 minutes) of finished 1080p Utopai X video.

When credits run out, Utopai sells credit top-ups. Top-up pricing starts at $15 for 1,000 credits, $45 for 3,000 credits, and $150 for 10,000 credits. Enterprise buyers requiring custom enterprise plans must contact Utopai sales directly.


What Changed in PAI 2.0

Utopai announced PAI 2.0, an agent-first platform, on 2026-06-02, according to reporting by Advanced Television. Utopai says PAI 2.0 arrived less than two months after PAI's April 2026 debut; Forbes dates the debut to March 2026, so the launch date is unresolved.

PAI 2.0 has two modes, Easy Mode and Pro Mode. Easy Mode provides a guided step-by-step pipeline moving from story outline to visual references, storyboards, video clips, and final timeline assembly. Pro Mode offers a freeform Canvas workspace.

PAI 2.0 also introduced rapid variant generation and 2x2 keyframe grids for each 15-second video segment, alongside voice input controls. Utopai claims the engine supports 4K video rendering with virtually limitless extension capabilities. PAI Code brings PAI tools into coding agents; its code is on GitHub at Utopai-Research/pai-code. Co-founder and Chief Scientific Officer (CSO) Zijian He said the aim is to catalyze a "Claude Code moment" for media generation.

  • Agent-first architecture: a creative agent, Canvas, voice input, and image and video generation models
  • Easy Mode: guides users through story setup, reference gathering, storyboard generation, and timeline assembly
  • Pro Mode: the freeform Canvas workspace
  • Keyframe generation: produces 2x2 keyframe grids for every 15-second video segment

Moving From PAI 1.0

Utopai maintained PAI 1.0 as an active system alongside PAI 2.0 for exactly one month, keeping it accessible until 2026-07-02.

Utopai matched all remaining PAI 1.0 credits 1:1 into user accounts on PAI 2.0 as of 2026-06-02. Pricing moved to monthly and annual subscriptions, credit top-ups and custom enterprise plans at the PAI 2.0 launch.

Earlier PAI updates in mid-April 2026 had introduced multi-shot sequencing, multi-turn editing, and 3-minute 4K video rendering.


How Utopai PAI Differs From a Single Video Generator

Utopai PAI differs from standalone video generators by combining full narrative project management tools with generative AI models inside a single workspace. Dedicated generation models such as Runway Gen-4 keep characters, locations and objects consistent from a single reference image, without fine-tuning. Similarly, OpenAI Sora 2 generates synchronized speech and soundscapes across continuous shots.

Other video generators prioritize specialized generation parameters, such as Kuaishou Kling, which claims up to 2-minute 1080p clips, or Moonvalley Marey, which is trained only on licensed, high-resolution footage and offers camera control. In contrast, PAI surrounds its generation models with pre-production and post-production infrastructure. PAI breaks down complete scripts, extracts prop and character lists, organizes shot lists, and compiles multi-shot sequences onto an editing timeline.

PAI coordinates generation through its Utopai X model, which reads whole-production context including scripts, assets, status, and feedback. PAI then exports assembled sequences directly to non-linear editors like Adobe Premiere Pro and DaVinci Resolve. Creators comparing software options can review our guide to Runway alternatives and directory of best AI video generators.


Who PAI Fits

PAI fits narrative production teams that need an end-to-end environment for structuring multi-scene visual stories. Teams that already manage scripts and storyboard timelines benefit from PAI's script breakdown, Canvas staging, and direct non-linear editor export tools.

Because Utopai provides no free tier and charges a minimum of $15 per month for 1,000 credits, users with no budget should compare options in our best AI video generators guide.

This assessment of PAI would change if Utopai introduced a permanent free tier with recurring monthly credits or lower credit costs for high-definition video generation. At 93 credits per second for Utopai X 1080p video, published plan credits yield limited generation time.

  • Recommended for: independent film teams managing multi-shot narrative projects from script to timeline
  • Recommended for: teams producing storyboards and rapid variant generation
  • Recommended for: editors who require direct project export into Adobe Premiere Pro or DaVinci Resolve
  • Not recommended for: individual creators seeking free AI video generation without monthly fees
  • Not recommended for: creators looking for quick, single-prompt video generation without narrative continuity

Reported Traction and Commercial Claims

In its June 2, 2026 press release, Utopai claimed that PAI reached $11 million in annual recurring revenue (ARR). According to reporting by Forbes, this $11 million ARR milestone was achieved within 60 days of PAI's debut, from licensing to production companies. The figure is unaudited.

Utopai began as Cybever, which co-founders Cecilia Shen and Jie Yang established in 2022 to build 3D environment tools. Forbes reported that the business generated $750,000 in revenue in 2024, estimated $7.5 million in revenue for the first half of 2025, and estimated full-year 2025 revenue under $50 million. When rebranding as Utopai Studios in August 2025, Utopai's rebrand headline claimed $110 million in revenue; Forbes reported that Space Nation and Cortés could together fetch an estimated $110 million, contingent on delivery.

Carmelo Anthony invested an undisclosed amount through Creative 7 Productions; Forbes estimated it at about $5 million and described it as valuing Utopai at about $1 billion. Organizers of the MIPCOM Cannes television conference also described Utopai as valued at more than $1 billion when naming Utopai a headline partner for the 2026 MIP AI Entertainment Forum. Before choosing a Utopai PAI plan, work out how many seconds of video you need and divide the plan's credits by the per-second rate.

Frequently Asked Questions

  • PAI (Production Assistive Intelligence) is an agent-driven artificial intelligence storytelling platform created by Utopai Studios. It combines a creative agent, a visual Canvas workspace, script breakdown tools, storyboard sequencing, and generative video models like Utopai X. The software enables production teams to manage narrative projects from text scripts to editing exports.
  • Utopai PAI offers four published subscription tiers as of October 2026. The Basic plan costs $15 monthly ($13.50 billed annually) for 1,000 credits. The Plus plan costs $49 monthly ($45 billed annually) for 3,500 credits with 4K video and voice input. The Pro plan costs $129 monthly ($119 billed annually) for 10,000 credits with priority queuing, and the Ultra plan costs $379 monthly ($349 billed annually) for 35,000 credits. Enterprise packages require custom sales quotes, and credit top-ups cost $15 for 1,000 credits, $45 for 3,000 credits, or $150 for 10,000 credits.
  • No, Utopai does not list a free tier or free trial credits on the PAI pricing page as of October 2026. All published access options require a paid subscription starting at $15 per month. While the pricing interface displays 'Try' buttons for individual tiers, Utopai does not state on the page whether those buttons provide a trial period or test credits.
  • Announced on June 2, 2026, PAI 2.0 introduced an agent-first architecture featuring a creative agent, a freeform visual Canvas, voice input, and image and video generation models. It added an Easy Mode for guided storyboard-to-timeline creation, a Pro Mode for Canvas staging, rapid variant generation, and 2x2 keyframe grids for 15-second segments. The release also shifted PAI to structured monthly and annual subscriptions.
  • When PAI 2.0 launched on June 2, 2026, Utopai matched all remaining PAI 1.0 credits 1:1 into users' PAI 2.0 accounts. PAI 1.0 remained operational alongside PAI 2.0 until July 2, 2026.
  • PAI is an end-to-end production workspace rather than a standalone generative model. While standalone video generators like Runway Gen-4 focus on video synthesis from reference images, PAI integrates script breakdown, shot lists, storyboard sequencing, and direct exports to Adobe Premiere Pro and DaVinci Resolve. It pairs these management tools with its Utopai X model, which generates video from whole-production context (scripts, assets, status, and feedback).

Put AI Video to Work in Your Business

Talk with our team about where AI video generation and workflow automation fit in your business.

Book a Consultation