Claude OneGov Pricing and GSA Agreement Details
How Anthropic's 40 percent government discount compares with OpenAI's 50 percent on net cost.
The Claude OneGov deal gives eligible government buyers 40% off token-based usage, with no minimum orders.
At Layer3Labs, we build custom agents and enterprise integrations for small and mid-sized businesses.
On October 27, 2026, the General Services Administration (GSA) announced the expanded OneGov agreement with Anthropic. OpenAI offers 50% off under its own OneGov agreement. A bigger discount does not guarantee a smaller bill, because each rate applies to that vendor's own list price.
What the Claude OneGov Deal Covers
The Claude OneGov agreement establishes a 40 percent discount on token consumption for government-accessible Claude models with zero minimum order volume. Under the terms announced by the GSA, public agencies pay only for the tokens they consume rather than maintaining mandatory spend floors.
The agreement includes FedRAMP-authorized environments, enabling participating agencies to run sensitive unclassified workloads within compliant infrastructure. Eligibility applies across multiple branches of public administration: federal executive, legislative, and judicial entities qualify alongside state, local, and tribal governments. According to Nextgov, the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) announced intent to award a sole-source contract for Claude models the week before the GSA announcement.
Agencies can order Claude services directly from Anthropic, through resellers, or on major cloud platforms. Operational ordering instructions are hosted at itvmo.gsa.gov/onegov. The GSA reports that its OneGov initiative has delivered more than $1.8 billion in total government savings since inception, with approximately $1.6 billion originating from its super intelligence agreements. Anthropic estimates that its new pricing structure will save the government $1 billion. The GSA release does not state per-token prices or a spending cap. Nextgov does not state per-token prices or name the covered Claude models.
Claude vs OpenAI OneGov Deals
The OneGov agreements for Anthropic and OpenAI differ in discount rate, start date and the extras OpenAI lists.
OpenAI's 27-month agreement, reported by Nextgov on September 10, 2026, took effect on October 1, 2026 and offers a 50 percent token discount on ChatGPT models. As reported by Nextgov, the OpenAI agreement followed the expiration of an earlier agreement and includes training and enablement resources without platform-access fees or spend commitments.
Nextgov reports that the Claude agreement spans 27 months, expiring January 31, 2029 per a GSA website. The GSA release omitted specific term dates. Anthropic says its discounted pricing took effect immediately on October 27, 2026. The table below details the published terms for both vendors.
| Feature | Claude OneGov Deal | OpenAI OneGov Deal |
|---|---|---|
| Discount | 40% off token-based usage | 50% off token-based usage |
| Term | 27 months (Nextgov reports expiration on January 31, 2029) | 27 months |
| Start Date | October 27, 2026 | October 1, 2026 |
| Fees and Minimums | No minimum orders, consumption-based billing | No platform-access fee, no minimum orders, no spend commitment |
| Eligible Buyers | Federal, state, local, and tribal governments | Federal, state, local, and tribal governments |
| Products Covered | Claude models available to government, FedRAMP environments | ChatGPT models, includes training and enablement resources |
| Per-Token Prices | Not stated in the sources | Not stated in the sources |
Why a Bigger Discount Is Not a Lower Bill
Compare the two deals on net cost per finished task instead of on discount percentage. Because the sources do not state per-token prices for either vendor, a 50 percent discount does not automatically yield a lower invoice than a 40 percent discount.
In our internal cost modeling, we calculate the mathematical break-even point between the two discount levels. At identical token counts, Claude's list price per task divided by OpenAI's must equal (1 - 0.50) / (1 - 0.40) = 0.8333 for equal net cost. Readers can reproduce this calculation directly using the two rates. The formula demonstrates that Claude's list price per task must be 16.7 percent below OpenAI's for the same job to yield equal net cost.
At identical list prices, the 10 point gap leaves Claude's net cost 20 percent above OpenAI's at every spend level ($600 vs $500 per $1,000). The table below illustrates net costs across three standard spend volumes assuming equal baseline pricing and identical token volume.
Task efficiency changes the arithmetic. At equal list prices, if Claude needs 20 percent more tokens for a task, its net cost is 0.72 per list dollar versus 0.50 for OpenAI. If Claude requires 50 percent more tokens, its net cost reaches 0.90 per list dollar versus 0.50. You can review general commercial baseline rates in our guide to AI model pricing and evaluate standard enterprise plans in our breakdown of Claude pricing.
| List-Price Token Volume | Claude at 40% Discount | OpenAI at 50% Discount | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| $1,000 | $600 | $500 | $100 |
| $10,000 | $6,000 | $5,000 | $1,000 |
| $100,000 | $60,000 | $50,000 | $10,000 |
What Happens to the $1 Claude Deal
Nextgov reports that the current Claude OneGov agreement expires October 31 and gives agencies Claude for Enterprise and Government at $1 per user.
OpenAI's earlier OneGov deal let agencies have ChatGPT for $1 a year and expired at the end of September 2026.
The GSA maintains that it renews OneGov agreements where appropriate as prior offers expire. The GSA release describes the new agreement as consumption-based and does not state any replacement of the $1 deal. Nextgov's article does not specify whether the 40 percent discount applies to Claude for Enterprise or Government subscriptions. For standard commercial subscription structures, read our analysis of Claude Enterprise pricing.
Who This Does Not Apply To and What to Ask a Reseller
The sources list federal, state, local and tribal governments as eligible buyers. A private business is not on that list. If you are a private business, the deal does not apply to you. See Claude Enterprise pricing.
The comparison changes if GSA or Anthropic publishes per-token prices or the list of covered models. It also changes if the Claude $1 per user deal is renewed, or if one model needs far more tokens than the other for the same job.
If you operate an eligible public agency, compare Claude and OpenAI on net cost per finished task using your agency's actual prompts rather than relying on discount percentages. Claude delivers a lower net invoice only if its list price per task is over 16.7 percent below OpenAI's for the same job at equal token counts. Contact your authorized reseller or cloud marketplace representative to confirm exact per-token dollar prices in writing before issuing a purchase order.
Frequently Asked Questions
- Yes. The GSA agreement with Anthropic provides a 40 percent consumption-based discount on token usage for Claude models available to eligible government agencies, with no minimum order requirements.
- Eligible entities include federal executive, legislative, and judicial branches, alongside state, local, and tribal governments. Commercial businesses and private enterprises do not qualify.
- Nextgov reports that the Claude OneGov agreement spans 27 months and expires on January 31, 2029, per a GSA website. The primary GSA release stated no specific term dates.
- Not necessarily. While OpenAI offers a larger 50 percent discount compared to Claude's 40 percent discount, the sources do not state per-token list prices for either vendor. Net cost depends on each vendor's baseline rates and the total tokens needed to finish your specific tasks.
- No. The OneGov agreement is limited to public-sector government entities.
Planning Your Enterprise AI Deployments?
Layer3Labs builds custom agents and enterprise integrations, and runs advisory engagements on workflow automation, for small and mid-sized businesses.
Book a Consultation